Montreal duo Elsiane’s bewitching 2007 debut album Hybrid established them as the hottest new act in Canada, with ecstatically received follow-up tours and festival appearances building a passionate live following, while also sparking a range of prestigious collaborations with the likes of Cirque de Soleil and the German electronic tastemakers Booka Shade.

Between Mechanics of Emotion and the group’s breathtaking new album Death of the Artist, Caplette and partner Stephane Sotto after going through a period of soul-searching and near-despair has come their most deeply felt, ambitious and realized effort to date— From the symphonic opener “The Motive,” to the lilting, emotionally-charged “Space Between Us” at the end, Death of the Artist represents not just Elsiane’s finest work to date, but a gauntlet laid down to the brightest of futures.

released April 21, 2017

all songs written and arranged by elsieanne caplette
produced by elsiane
mixed by: rob heaney and denis normandeau
engineered by: montana martin iles
additional engineering: harris shper, maxime philippe, roxanne potvin, rafael canez, hernan hecht
recorded at fast forward studios (montreal)
mastered by: harris newman at grey market mastering (montreal)
executive producer: rob heaney

additional recording:
rafael canez marticorena at lcr studios – lima, perú 2014
hernan hecht at hh studios – mexico city 2015 (sponsored by avid)


bass: kevin de souza (track 1,4,5) and tony grey (track 10)
cello: josiane bell (track 1, 2, 4, 5, 8)
violins: stéphanie caplette (1, 2, 4,5,8)
viola: vincent ducharme (track 8 )
contrebasse: mathieu désy (track 8)
bassoon: melissa pipe (track 1, 4, 5)
flute: diane caplette (track 4, 5)
trombone: rené caplette (track 1, 4)
charango: enderson herencia (track 1)
lap steel guitar and additional electric guitar: rick haworth (track 10)
tabla: shawn mativetsky (track 10)
elsieanne caplette (vocals, keyboards, bass, electric violin and guitars)
stephane sotto (drums and percussion)

choir of fans for “the motive”
eric yan lévesque, stéphane moisan, marie-eve lazure, ventsislav tomov, petya tomova, slavisa lukic, nelly doubijansky, kara turcotte, louise benoit and linda, nathalie hyacinthe, anna maria cacchione, julie anne damskov, shawn bleu, silvana aristizabal, alejandro marin, jean-sébastien senécal, krista bursey, luka field rudnick, jonathan fournier, france potvin, françois talbot

all album art by: jérôme prieur, marie josée roy
photography: jean-sébastien senécal
photo art portraits: jean-sébastien senécal and marie josée roy
art direction: elsiane

all rights reserved